HP Printing and Scanning in Linux Mint 12

So I found out that in order for my all-in-one wireless HP OfficeJet J4680 to be able to print AND scan in Mint 12, like I was able to do in Mint 10, that I had to add the printer a different way than I normally did in the past. In the past I simply open the Printer GUI and added my wireless network printer that way and the printer and scanner was added flawlessly. When I did that in Mint 12 it added the printer just fine, but not that scanner. After further research online (man, the Linux community is amazing), I found out the better way to add the printer and the scanner was to run the following command in the terminal:

system-config-printer

After, the printer and scanner were added and all is well.

3 thoughts on “HP Printing and Scanning in Linux Mint 12

  1. It worked perfectly in Mint 13. Just as it did in Ubuntu 12.0.4
    I had used this in Ubuntu did not know that it was accessible in Mint
    I had tried all of the suggestions and even submitted to hplip and Mint forums. No response.
    No one wants to admit that a Ubuntu app exists in Mint that works better than the Mint app or hplip installation.
    How many more Ubuntu apps exist behind the scenes that provide better results than the Mint counter parts.
    The Ubuntu Wireless Manager which is Mints default Wireless Manager is easier to use than the recommended WICD.

Leave a Reply

