More On Linux Mint 12 using Cinnamon and Conky

From previous post I have stated that I had an issue with the Conky theme running under Cinnamon in Mint 12. I am glad to announce that I have found a fix. I posted my problem over at the Linux Mint forums but unfortunately no one posted a reply to my particular issue. I then decided to see if the Ubuntu community could help me so I posted over at their forum here. Luckily, someone was able to help me. The main issue that needed to be changed in the Conky config file was this:

own_window_type override

to this:

own_window_type normal

I’m not sure why the Cinnamon environment would cause this particular Conky config to act this way. I’m just glad someone was able to assist in the fix.

Since then I’ve made some updates to the configuration from the last time I posted my Conky desktop. Here is a screenshot from my primary monitor.

And here is a screenshot from my second monitor.

I found the above Conky weather config from Teo Bigus Geekus post over at the Ubuntu forums. I have to give much credit to Teo Bigus Geekus for being so helpful in getting my configuration exactly like I wanted it based off his original script.

Something else I wanted to state an improvement from Linux Mint 10 to Linux Mint 12 is the dual monitor setup. Before, I had an issue in Mint 10 with dual monitors that every time I wanted to view something full screen, be it a You Tube video or any other video, it would always expand to the second monitor, never the primary monitor. This no longer occurs in Mint 12. I’m not sure if it is a fix in Mint, the kernel, the video drivers, or Flash. Whatever it is I’m excited it’s not a problem any longer.

6 thoughts on “More On Linux Mint 12 using Cinnamon and Conky

  1. Fred April 8, 2012 / 5:46 pm

    Cheers Ed, I had exactly the same issue with Cinnamon on Lisa but now, thanks to you, my desktop is looking mighty coool with Conky! Thanks for sharing!

  2. chris June 11, 2012 / 6:55 am

    hi Ed. Would you mind sharing your .conkyrc file? thanks

  3. ed June 11, 2012 / 7:13 am

    @chris
    Which file did you want to see, the weather or the lunatico?

  4. Ashish June 16, 2012 / 3:13 pm

    Thanks Ed.
    Your tweak helped me to get the Reloj conky config working on Linx Mint Maya.

  5. Nico July 5, 2012 / 1:45 pm

    I have same problem with Maya cinnamon hope this will fix it.
    Thanks in advanced.

  6. Siddhant October 21, 2012 / 2:29 am

    Thanks dude! worked for me.

Leave a comment