Oscars – Ennio Morricone tribute

I watched the Academy Awards Sunday night, which is the only awards show I watch and enjoy, and was happy to see that Ennio Morricone finally received a tribute from the Academy. I’ve been a fan of his work since the day I first watched A Fistful of Dollars with my Dad when I was about twelve years old. However, I felt the tribute was trashed as soon as they mentioned that Celine Dion was going to sing one of his songs. The happy feeling I felt inside knowing that Ennio Morricone was going to be recognized immediately changed to disgust and dread. Why Celine Dion? Couldn’t they have chosen someone else? Why did it have to be a vocal performance? I think it would have been so much better if the orchestra had played a medley of his most popular themes throughout his career with clips from the movies those themes were from.
If you are a fan of Ennio Morricone and enjoy mixes I highly recommend Morricone RMX.

