Another blog? – Tumblr

I’ve been hearing about this new free blogging service called Tumblr on different podcast that I listen to. Yesterday I decided to sign up just to see what the hub-bub is all about. You can find me at: edtheuniquegeek.tumblr.com.
Only recently – as you can see by just viewing the history on this site – have I joined the millions in blogging. I guess I’ve never really understood the concept too well. Now that I have begun blogging, I see that it is a good thing, a good outlet to get those pesky thoughts out of your head and open for people around the world to view. Also, it can be considered a good tool to refine your writing skills.
However, now that I have started blogging, I am now beginning to wonder why bloggers have more than one blog. I am sure there may be some valid reasons but, for the most part, it seems to be a waste of time. That is what I was saying to myself while I was signing up for Tumblr. While filling out my personal information to create an account, I was thinking, “Why am I doing this?”. But, now that I have seen what Tumblr is all about, it is a service I would recommend to anyone, most importantly, to the new blogger.
For anyone who has never blogged before, Tumblr is a great place to start. It’s extremely simply, smooth, fast and just plain pretty. It has all the basics that a blogger needs in a very simple user interface (see below).

Click

Tumblr

For the existing blogger, it could be used, very easily, to post videos and pictures very rapidly. It could be used to link to from your main blogging site if you do not want all the media clutter on you main site. What’s better is that they have included a means to post a picture blog straight from your mobile phone. I guess you could consider Tumblr a media blog.
Check it out. It’s free.

1 thought on “Another blog? – Tumblr”

  1. As someone who has several blogs, I can give you one reason. Readership. I have friends who only use livejournal, or myspace, etc. I just post to all of them from e-mail. It’s the same blog, and I need to make the graphics look the same to. It let’s you into other people’s communities that they’re familiar with.

Leave a Reply

