Another trip to the ER

At 1:00 a.m. last night I woke up with chest pains, a familiar feeling I have experienced before. Immediately, I remembered I had fish for dinner. However, my past episodes of an allergic reaction to fish was only with tuna and salmon. I didn’t always have fish allergies, it took a long time after the first experience and many tests at the hospital, and some research of my own, before I realized I had an allergy.

I went to the kitchen, drank some water and chugged some Mylanta, hoping this would help. An hour went by and the pain did not go away and I started feeling nauseous with feelings of vomiting. This was new. In the past, I had some numbness in my hands and face along with a very severe acid reflux pain in my esophagus. I had the pain this time but no numbness.

I immediately started researching on the internet the fish I had for dinner, pollock. There were several sites, along with WebMD.com, that mentioned that pollock can affect some people.

Okay. That’s it. No more fish for me ever. Which sucks. I guess I should have researched it before I ate it.

After discovering this problem, I immediately woke up Chelby and told her to take me to the emergency room, thinking I was on my way toward anaphylactic shock. We got there just before 3:00 a.m. and waited to see the doctor, after checking in, for almost an hour and a half. Ridiculous. I failed to mention that on the way to the hospital that I was starting to feel loss of breath. By this time in the waiting room, it was getting worse and the nausea never left. I had mentioned this to the lady at the counter but it didn’t seem to rush things.

I finally saw the doctor. They put me on a EKG again, just in case there were heart issues being that I have those issues coming from my Mom’s side of the family. After they monitored this for a while, and my blood pressure, they eventual pumped me, via a needle in the arm, with Protonix, steroids and anti-histamine. The anti-histamine was enough to knock me out, which was perfect since they wanted to continue to monitor me.

They eventually released me around 7:30 a.m. and sent me home with prescriptions for my acid reflux, more steriods and more anti-histamine (Benadryl).

I stayed home from work today to recuperate. I’m feeling better now and so much more the wiser.

3 thoughts on “Another trip to the ER”

  1. Fish sucks anyways. Isn’t acid reflux fun? You might have to get an endoscopy, that was memorable.

Leave a Reply

