The Big Bang Theory – Captain Future is Coming

For you fans of the show The Big Bang Theory, you may have noticed some of the cool geek items in Leonard and Sheldon’s apartment. There are quite a few that I found really cool, like the Firestorm figure and the Green Lantern collectibles on the shelves. Well one of the items that is hanging on the wall kept catching my eye every time I watched an episode this past season (I’m new to the show), a poster with a robot and a man that had similarities to Flash Gordon or Buck Rogers. You can see the poster I am referring to in this clip at about 2:15, over the right shoulder of Penny:

I finally found out a little background on this poster this past week.

The poster is from a cover of a pulp book that was published in the early 40’s called Captain Future. Thanks to that show and the total awesomeness of that poster, I became intrigued with the character and backstory, especially after reading about it here. Some of those covers are just plain brilliant. I had never heard of Captain Future before starting my search but instantly became fascinated by the information that I found. I started looking online to see if I could find any of the original pulp books to buy but, of course, they are rare and in some cases pretty expensive. I found out today, though, that the hardcover of the collected works is coming out in July.
http://www.captainfuture.us.com/
http://www.haffnerpress.com/cf1.html

I’m actually excited. I may still look for the original books though.
Thanks The Big Bang Theory.

5 thoughts on “The Big Bang Theory – Captain Future is Coming”

  1. Being a pulp collector/fan, seeing that Captain Future poster is what made me stop and watch the show while flipping channels. In fact, Captain Future pulps are not considered especially rare or valuable by pulp standards. I think you should be able to find an original on eBay for something in the $25 to $50 range for a mid-grade copy.

  2. In Sheldon’s apartment, before the corridor to the bathroom, on the left side of the door, there is something that looks like a rack. Could you pls tell me what that is?

    Thanks.

    PS I thought the Rubix Cube Tissue Paper Box was so cool

  3. When I watch the show with my boys they always geek out over the poster that hangs in the hallway on the way to Leonard’s bedroom. It makes me think of War of the Worlds, but we’ve never had a good, clear shot of it. Any thoughts?
    Thanks so much!

  4. I’ll have to look the next time I watch the show. Haven’t seen last night’s episode yet so I will pay attention.

Leave a Reply

