Linux Mint 12 on Vostro V130 – Wireless fixed

If you read the last post you will know that I had an issue with the wireless card on my Dell Vostro V130 in Linux Mint 12. After visiting the Linux Mint forums and posting my wireless card information I was able to find the solution. The direct link to the thread can be found here.

To sum up, I found out my integrated wireless card was a Atheros AR9285 using this command in the terminal:

sudo /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintWifi/mintWifi.py

When I posted it on the thread someone was kind enough to refer me to a different thread where, apparently, you have to run this command as su:

echo “options ath9k nohwcrypt=1” > /etc/modprobe.d/ath9k.conf

I rebooted my computer and it works perfectly now. Interestingly enough some people have had to run that command in Linux Mint 10 & 11 in which I found that my wireless card worked perfectly under Mint 11 without having to run that command.

Interesting beast is Linux.

Leave a Reply

