Linux Mint 13 Cinnamon on Dell Vostro V130

I installed Mint 13 Cinnamon on my Vostro this past week while still keeping the dual boot of Windows 7 intact. I first used Clonezilla to make an image of my entire laptop with Mint 12 and Windows 7 and then booted into the Mint 13 USB thumb drive I created using the Universal USB Installer and the Mint 13 .iso I downloaded. From within the Live Mint 13 boot I used GParted to delete the Mint 12 partition and proceeded to install Mint 13 alongside Windows 7. A very simple install.

So far everything on my Vostro has worked right out of the box. Nothing to configure or tweak. I haven’t decided yet if I am going to also install Mint 13 on my Dell XPS 410 desktop since I not long ago installed Mint 12. I believe I just may skip Mint 13 and wait until Mint 14 is released to install on my desktop.

4 thoughts on “Linux Mint 13 Cinnamon on Dell Vostro V130”

  1. Hi!
    I’ve a Dell Vostro v130, like you, but I’ve noticed that the battery hotkey doesn’t work on ubuntu (I use the ubuntu gnome-shell and not unity), can you give me feedback if that problem is in Linux Mint or not?

    Best Regards

    Franco

  2. It doesn’t seem to work for my either in Linux Mint 13. I’ve never paid attention to this nor ever used it. The only ones I use quite frequently and do work in Mint 13 is the wireless and volume hotkey. The sleep hotkey seems to work also. Other than the battery, I haven’t checked the others.

  3. Hum…
    The battery hotkey is usefull, because with it you can attach and detach the battery from the charge. for example when you have reached the 100% of the charge, you can decide to detach the battery anche go with the AC power only to preserve the battery life…
    I’ll investigate to find how can I enable this hotkey. If you find some information please send me a feedback.

    Best Regards

    Franco

  4. Ah, yes. That is useful. Especially knowing how difficult it will be when the battery is completely depleted and can no longer take a charge. Having to replace the battery will not be easy.
    I’ll keep my eyes open and will search the Mint forums too for the fix, if there is one.

Leave a Reply

